Paycuts and Self Pity

SO my husband recently had a job change. It was expected and planned, but still nerve racking and stressful. This job change would mean the equivalent of a $1300/month paycut. Ouch. OUCH. OUCH.

While he technically brings home a bigger paycheck (which bumps us a tax bracket), there are way less benefits and to lessen that gap (that’s right, we still don’t have as good as benefits as before), it’s quite a bit every month.

I want so much to have our credit cards paid off….to pay off my student loans….and not have  a car payment and this pay cut means it will be even longer until that happens.

What is worse is that even though I complain, we are still way better off than many people around us. It makes it hard to justify my stress and frustration over not being to meet some of our goals as quickly.

I could stay home and work to help the people in my town. I could help the local churches set up food pantry and closets for those in need. I could help families set up and follow budgets. I could help with the paperwork that many struggle with when trying to get help. I’m good at all those and I like it. I’m also good at my job and like the work.

Maybe I just need to get over myself and make more time for my passions. Maybe I need to convince my husband that we should buckle down even more and get our debts paid off. Maybe I need to really learn how little money means in the scheme of things and maybe I need to struggle more so that I can have the gratitude I should.

Maybe I need a day off.

 

 

Leave a Reply

